The Trip to Madinah

This is just a small part of a story I wrote entitled My Summer Experience in Saudi Arabia. You may not know this but I am in the process of gathering and writing (lots of) stories from 2015. That’s what you get for not journaling properly!


In early June, my family and I embarked on a journey to Madinah for the first time. We had barely made a third of the over 800km trip when the AC malfunctioned. To make things worse, we were travelling during the day! We were left with no choice but to roll the windows down to allow the air from outside enter and keep us ‘cool’. Having the hot wind slap my face constantly is definitely one of the horrible experiences in my life: it was anything but a nice dream. By noon, the temperature had exceeded 40°C and we slowly became dehydrated, opening and finishing one bottle of water after another. The entire back of my shirt was saturated with sweat. Even our electronic devices became so hot that it could possibly detonate. Seriously, I’m not exaggerating.

As if all that wasn’t bad enough, we almost ran out of fuel during the journey and – surprise surprise – the nearest gas station wasn’t that near. We had to exit the highway and travel almost 30km before we arrived at a small town called Al Amaaer. Thankfully we didn’t end up pushing our car to the gas station that day. Come to think of it, I am glad that this happened because we got to (kind of) encircle a plateau as we drove to Al Amaaer. Plus, we wouldn’t have witnessed stunning sceneries and passed gold mine areas if we never left Route 60.

2016-01-07-08.46.03-1.jpg.jpg
The sand dunes along Route 60.
2016-01-07-08.46.01-1.jpg.jpg
The road to get to the gas station was deserted. The plateau in the thumbnail is to the right.
2016-01-07-08.46.00-1.jpg.jpg
Al Amaaer.
2016-01-07-08.45.59-1.jpg.jpg
What we saw that wasn’t on Route 60.

When we did arrive in Madinah that evening, we were so exhausted and terribly dehydrated. Oh, did I mention that it was 47 degrees when we arrived there? It was.


I’m interested to know how summer went for you. How was it like? Have you always loved summer? What’s one thing you love and hate about summer?

I’m not a fan of hot weather. Growing up in a tropical climate, I’ve been through many hot days. No matter what I do, there’s no escape from the heat (and humidity).

Published by

Asyraf Mutalib

A passionate but lazy artser.

Leave a Reply

